Senate approves establishment of 10 new National Parks

Spread the love

By Iyojo Ameh

The Senate has approved the request of President Muhammadu Buhari to establish 10 new National Parks across the country.

The Senate resolution followed the consideration and approval of a motion on the National Park declaration Order 22, sponsored by Sen.Gobir Abdullahi.(APC-Sokoto).

Abdullahi in his debate said Buhari had written to the Senate on Nov 16, 2022, requesting the concurrence of the Senate to the National Park declaration Order ,2022 in consonance with section 18 of the National Park Service Act 2004.

He said the national park declaration order seeks to establish 10 additional national parks based on due feasibility studies and environmental impact assessment in 12 selected forests and game reserves in various states of the federation.

He listed the parks to include to the Alawa National Parks ,Niger state,Apoi National Park,Bayelsa state,Edumenun National Park , Bayelsa state, Galgore National Park, Kano state, Hadejia Wetland National Park,Jigawa state.

Others are Kempe National Park ,Kwara state,Kogo National Park,Kastina state,Marhi National Park,Nasarawa state, Oba Hill National Park,Osun state and Pandam National Park, Plateau state.

He said the additional parks were necessary for the regulation of the use of Nigeria’s unique ecosystem, particularly the fauna and the flora ecosystems.

According to him, the establishment will address the fast rate of disappearance and degredation of Nigeria’s forest , achieve and develop adequate tourism infrastructure in line with international best practices.

He said the establishments would help protect and preserve the biodiversity and natural heritage of Nigeria.

Abdullahi said section 18 of the National Park Service Act 2004 as amended provides for the concurrent of the National Assembly.

Related posts

Leave a Comment