INEC Releases Timetable for Bye Elections and Re-Run Elections

Spread the love

By Iyojo Ameh

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has unveiled its comprehensive timetable and schedule of activities for upcoming bye-elections and court-ordered re-run elections across various constituencies in Nigeria.

This was contained in a release signed by Mr. Sam Olumekun, National Commissioner & Chairman, Information Voter Education Committee in Abuja.

The vacancies, arising from the resignation or demise of Members of the National and State Houses of Assembly, have been declared by the Presiding Officers, including the Senate President, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Speakers of State Houses of Assembly.

These electoral vacancies span two Senatorial Districts, four Federal Constituencies, and three State Constituencies, affecting nine States of the Federation.

The commission according to the release is set to conduct re-run elections as directed by various Election Petition Appeal Tribunals, encompassing 35 Constituencies resulting from the 2023 General Election. While three cover entire constituencies, others involve select Polling Units.

The simultaneous conduct of both categories of elections is scheduled to occur on Saturday, 3rd February 2024, in all affected constituencies.

To ensure transparency and accessibility, the Commission has uploaded the Timetable for the elections and detailed delimitation data, including registration areas, polling unit names, the number of registered voters, and PVCs collected, on its official website and social media platforms.

INEC emphasizes the importance of political parties and candidates adhering strictly to the specified timelines for the seamless conduct of these elections.

For further details, the timetable, and other election-related information, visit the INEC website and official social media channels.

Related posts

Leave a Comment