INEC Swears in New Resident Electoral Commissioners …tasks them on professionalism

Spread the love

By Iyojo Ameh

The Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmood Yakubu has sworn in nine Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) while addressing crucial aspects of electoral responsibilities.

In his address, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu extended congratulations to the newly sworn-in RECs, emphasizing the profound responsibility and sacred duty attached to overseeing elections.

He highlighted the challenges faced in conducting elections, particularly in an environment where some political actors and their supporters seek victory at any cost, often placing blame on the Commission or seeking to undermine the electoral process.
He cautioned against unproductive debates while encouraging openness to constructive criticism. Emphasizing the significance of consistent engagement with stakeholders, including political parties, civil society, media, and security agencies,

The Chairman reiterated the paramount importance of maintaining fairness, transparency, and adherence to electoral laws and codes of conduct.

While expressing concern over potential acts of defiance or misconduct, Prof. Yakubu urged the RECs to effectively manage personnel and resources while ensuring accountability for their actions.

He also reminded them of the ongoing electoral activities and the impending reforms post the 2023 General Election as he disclosed plans for re-run elections and bye-elections in constituencies facing vacancies due to the resignation or demise of members of the National and State assemblies.

Of the newly sworn-in RECs, Prof. Yakubu highlighted four who had risen through the ranks within INEC and five others with varied experiences in public service at national and state levels. He reminded all RECs, regardless of their background, of the need to meet the high standards expected in ensuring transparent and high-quality elections.

The new RECs are: Abubakar Pawa (Kebbi); Abubakar Ahmed (Borno); Dr. Anugbum Onuoha (Edo); Ehimeakhe Isah (Akwa Ibom); Mal. Aminu Idris (Kaduna); Mohammed Abubakar (Kwara); Mrs Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ondo); Olubunmi Omoseyindemi (Ekiti); and Shehu Wahab (Nasarawa).

Related posts

Leave a Comment